Mango Coconut “Ice Cream”

I recently tasted a super scrumptious mango-coconut pudding or dip at a gathering and was turned on by the yum-factor and the simplicity of it. My friend told me it was just frozen mango and coconut milk blended together. She served it at room temperature and it was delicious. But today I wanted to give my boys (age 1.5 and 5) a special treat and decided to whip this mixture up but as more of an ice cream. I mixed about half of a 1lb bag of frozen mango pieces with about one half of a can of full fat coconut milk in my Vitamix and voila- a healthy yummy treat. You might have to add a tiny splash of water if you have the really thick kind of coconut milk.

Of course, I didn’t tell them it was healthy, I just told them they were getting ice cream. The 1year old ate it up like it was the best thing in the whole world. The 5 year old has had real ice cream, so while he ate it, there was no fooling him as to what “real” ice cream was. It wasn’t quite as hard as ice cream but it didn’t much matter. To make it more of a “treat” next time I might try adding some honey and vanilla or maple syrup.

I also put some of the leftovers back in the freezer to enjoy later. Since I’m not eating dairy right now, this will be perfect for my after dinner treat!

IMG_7442-1.JPG

Leave a Reply

