Lego Snack Time

For my son’s 5th birthday celebration at school he wanted to bring something “cool” for his friends and I wanted to get away from the usual cupcakes or cake that is brought in for birthdays. Let’s be clear- I LOVE cake, and I let my son have cake for special occasions- I am not anti-cake by any means. But with 30 kids in the classroom and 3 teachers over the course of a 9 month school year that’s roughly cake or cupcakes on average EVERY WEEK! Yikes. So here was our alternative idea (stolen from none other than Pinterest 😜)

IMG_7154.JPG

The red ninja from Ninjago made out Babybel cheese. Simply remove one side of the wax strip on the cheese and draw two eyes (I used black cake decorating gel)

IMG_7159.JPG

PB&J Lego brick sandwiches. Cut of the crust then cut in half. I made the circles using an open baby bottle to press into a slice of bread. Then dab some peanut butter on one side of the circle to stick it to the bread.

The kids (and teachers) loved it and my son was thrilled. I wish I had some better picks but I was juggling a one year old in a chaotic preschool while trying to arrange the snack. I would have loved to have a bit more time to arrange the snacks in a more “Lego-y” way but hey- that’s what having kids is like, right?

IMG_7156.JPG

Leave a Reply

