Lactation Cookies – Healthy and Yummy Way To Maintain or Boost Your Milk Supply

Based on my conversations with other moms, my pumping output and having two boys who have in the past and currently are thriving on breastmilk, I’m going to go ahead and say I have a healthy milk supply. However, around 3-4 months post-partum with my second baby, I noticed a slight drop in milk supply. I made sure I was doing all the right things to maintain/increase milk supply (staying very well hydrated, eating enough calories, drinking fennel/fenugreek teas) but reducing stress was not something I could address since my main stressor was serious sleep deprivation (this will likely be a whole different post!). Still, my supply bounced back enough to continue breastfeeding. Then we had a nursing strike, then teething, then illness…..the list goes on. My little guy also wasn’t the type of baby who goes on a nursing marathon to naturally boost moms supply, he just gives up at the breast. Now we are 6 months post-partum and going strong with breastfeeding BUT like many moms I constantly worry about my supply.

Now I need a drum roll because I’m about to talk about the EASIEST, most delicious and effective way to build or maintain your milk supply. I have no idea how I did not know about these un-named miracles while breastfeeding my first baby. They are less costly than buying herbal lactation support, you can make a ton and they freeze well, and they can be enjoyed by anyone who wants a healthy but yummy snack (and your kids and husband won’t start lactating!) What are these amazing things? LACTATION COOKIES! If you already knew about them and are shaking your head at me then WHY DIDN’T YOU TELL ME ABOUT THEM?? I thought I knew so much about breastfeeding, it confounds me that I had never heard of these.

OK I will stop rambling and share the recipe. I felt no need to reinvent the wheel so I did a Google search and found this recipe from DrMomma.org. There is also a great explanation to the ingredients and why they help support milk production.

Major Milk Makin’ Cookies
Recipe by Kathleen Major


1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
1 3/4 c. oats
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
3/4 c. almond butter or peanut butter
1/2 c. butter, softened
1 c. flax (milled)
3 T brewer’s yeast
1/3 c. water
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 c. sugar
1/2 c. brown sugar
2 tsp vanilla
2 large eggs
2 c. (12oz) chocolate chips
1 c. chopped nuts of your choice (I used walnuts)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit

Combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt in a bowl.
In a large bowl, beat almond butter, butter, sugar, brown sugar, vanilla, brewer’s yeast, flax and water until creamy.
Mix in eggs.
Gradually beat in flour mixture.
Mix in nuts and chocolate chips.
Add oats slowly, mixing along the way.

Place balls of dough onto greased baking sheets or baking stones.

Press down each ball lightly with a fork.
Bake 12 minutes.

 

DSC_0772

They turned out really well and are very tasty – not too sweet but still feels like you are indulging a little bit 🙂  Both hubby and my 4 year old really liked them as well. They are pretty darn healthy in my opinion so I don’t mind giving my son one of these cookies as a special treat sometimes. Also, like I said before, they freeze well so why not make a double batch?

BIGGEST QUESTION: DO THEY WORK?!?!?

Well, I have to admit I over indulged on a Tuesday (I had like 3-4 cookies and they are not small! yikes!) I had 1 on Wednesday and was starting to think they were just an excuse for lactating mothers to have cookies whenever they wanted. Well, I was wrong. THEY TOTALLY WORK!!! I woke up Thursday morning engorged. I guess it takes my body about 36-48 hours for all the good stuff to kick in. Since then I’ve toned it down to about 1 cookie a day, sometimes 2 and my supply is very robust now. I’m still not sleeping, just got over a virus, I can work out hard at the gym (these are all stressors to my body) and as long as I still hydrate and have my cookie, I’m all good and baby is happy.

 

One thought on “Lactation Cookies – Healthy and Yummy Way To Maintain or Boost Your Milk Supply

Leave a Reply

