Edible Heart Art

Today’s post is in celebration of Valentines Day with food ideas to get your little one to try something new (?) and eat fantastically fun (healthy) food. I could have made hundreds of more “heart art” but I forced myself to cap it…it was just so much fun! When I was trying to come up with a theme for this blog post I was at a loss for a while, but then I remembered one of my son’s favorite books when he was younger and this book was the seed of my inspiration. Every animal is constructed using only hearts! It is truly an amazing children’s book.

DSC_0466Here are some of the ingredients I used: cucumber, carrot, ham, cheese, soft shell sprouted wheat tortilla, strawberries, egg and raisins.

DSC_0406

To make the egg in a heart shaped I treated myself to this from Amazon:

photo

I also thinly sliced some sweet potatoes, cut out heart shapes and baked them (about 15-20 minutes at 425F).

DSC_0441

DSC_0442

What better way to introduce your child to beautiful, healthy red beets than to present them as food art? I steamed these beets for about half an hour, thinly sliced then and cut out various heart shapes.

DSC_0443

DSC_0464

The balloon stems are from a dried fruit “leather” snack that I thinly sliced. (the valentines are homemade by my 3 year old 😉

DSC_0448

or for a more adult presentation…

DSC_0446

I then got creative with the book and my cut out hearts and here is what I came up with. My 3 year old son helped.

DSC_0403

DSC_0404

DSC_0411

DSC_0460

DSC_0426

DSC_0431

DSC_0452

DSC_0435

And OF COURSE, my sous chef got to sample and enjoy…

DSC_0422

Happy Valentines Day!

3 thoughts on “Edible Heart Art

Leave a Reply

