Pick-Me-Up Pregnancy Smoothie

Kale, Spinach & Pear Smoothie pics from Sterling Style blog

As we women age we begin to become more conscious about the way we look. I’m not talking about the teenage angst of being “too fat” or “too thin” (although I still occasionally wrestle with those social media images) but I’m talking about the first time you notice a grey hair or start to see little wrinkles around your eyes. Well, I started to notice those things too, and like most women, I’m not going down without a fight! But in addition to vanity, I also want to keep my body in optimal health for longevity and (what I hope will be) a future pregnancy. 

I began my quest to find a smoothie I could drink daily that would be easy to make, taste yummy, make me feel light and fresh after drinking it rather than full and heavy, and would be super packed full of nutrition! Oh, and something my 2 year would beg to drink. Impossible? Nope. I found a recipe that I love on the blog Sterling Style. Taylor Sterling hit the nail on the head when she found this recipe (originally from the blog Joy the Baker). I only made a few minor additions to pack in a little more nutrition punch.

Kale, Spinach & Pear Smoothie pics from Sterling Style blog

Kale, Spinach and Pear Smoothie

Ingredients:

1 big cup spinach leaves

1 big cup chopped kale leaves

1/2 pear

1 frozen banana (I use unfrozen)

1 1/2 cups cold almond milk (I like unsweetened vanilla almond milk)

1 tablespoon honey

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract (optional, for taste if the almond milk is plain)

Directions:

Remove kale leaves from their center stalk (I just pull them off and rip into small pieces – have your kids help with this for added fun!).  In a blender, combine kale spinach and almond milk.  Blend until no big kale bits remain. Add banana, honey, and pear. Blend until smooth. Enjoy!

I’ve added things like almond butter and shredded coconut to it. You can really play with it and it still tastes great!

For a super nutritious smoothie add 1 teaspoon fish oil or cod liver oil (I promise you won’t taste it!),  and powdered probiotics. Fish oil is important for brain and nerve development in utero as well as keeping mom’s health optimal and probiotics help keep the digestive and immune system in optimal health. For babies born vaginally, the short journey through the birth canal is is their first dose of healthy bacteria!

So why did I call this a “Pick-Me-Up Pregnancy Smoothie”? Because when you are pregnant, there are very few drinks that are “allowed” that can make you feel this good. This smoothie helps give you a natural boost of energy without the caffeine because it is packed with vitamins and minerals that your body desperately needs when growing another little person. Kale and spinach contain iron, which most pregnant women (and not pregnant women) are encouraged to eat more of. You will also get a good dose of vitamin A and K and calcium to name a few.

And just in case you were wondering, yes, my 2 year old begs for his “green smoothie”!!! Drink to your health. Cheers!

3 thoughts on “Pick-Me-Up Pregnancy Smoothie

Leave a Reply

